Daily Archives: June 7, 2007

Logarithms!

 I am sure most of you readers will not be interested in my mathematical marvels, but I am thrilled to death. Well… I was studying the Sound Reference Handbook by Yamaha today (as a part of my quest to get more technical knowledge of sound) and I made an amazing discovery!  I was thrilled today to discover that our ears interpret sound logarithmically! Ah logarithms… I sigh with fond memory of many math classes 🙂 … Here is the graph of a logarithm…

Log base 10 of X

What does it mean? Well, I am pleased to tell you that our ears interpret equal distance between octaves of sound. (Low A versus high A) However, octaves are actually in a 2:1 ratio! Every time you jump an octave, the distance between the two notes doubles! Technically it is not distance but actually the speed of the waves of sound double! For example, the note ‘A’ is at 440 hz (or 440 wave cycles per second), jump an octave, 880, then 1720, then 3540 and so on. But although the distance doubles each time, our ears perceive it as the same! It is fascinating how God has created the human ear. I love it!

Leave a comment

Filed under Life, Mathematics, sound

Child Soldiers

I just spent about an hour tonight looking up information on child soldiers. Did you know that around 300,000 children in the world are child soldiers?! From Latin America to Africa to Asia. The youngest child discovered was 5, but the typical ‘recruiting’ or kidnapping age is 7-10 yrs old. I have been asking the Lord to reveal to me his heart on this issue. I know it angers him; injustice and oppression anger God. But I want a revelation of it to hit my spirit, to give me fuel to pray. Praying for the issues of human trafficking and child soldiers stirs me up, but most of it is emotion, and I want to keep pressing in on this issue when my emotions run dry.

Yes, today’s topic is very sobering, but then that is how we are called to live. 1 Thess. 5:6 “Let us not sleep as others do, but let us be alert and sober.” I want to live more of a sober lifestyle; quieting my anxieties, my semi-frantic accomplishing of little tasks, my pursuit of the temporary pleasures of this life. Don’t misunderstand me, I am still going to hang-0ut with friends and have fun times. 🙂 But, I want to truly cultivate that undistracted focus on the Lord. One of the keys to that is sobriety or another way to put it… keeping the right perspective on this life.

Big Picture: God, eternity, eternal rewards, Jesus coming back

Small Picture: The little hassles and details of this life, the email that ‘needs’ to be sent, that task that is pressing to be done, the little relationship problems and so on.

When I gaze on God, suddenly my anxieties are gone, my heart is at rest, and he fixes the problems or shows me what I need to do. So I will gaze on God and ask him to answer the cries of the oppressed. He will give me revelation and I know somewhere in Africa or Latin America or Asia, God is breaking in on behalf of a child soldier.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life