Daily Archives: December 7, 2007

snow, Snow, SNOW!

That’s right, yesterday we had our first big snowfall in KC. I was hugely suprised to see how quickly it appeared. My semi-comatose roommate asked if it was snowing around 9:30am, I was a bit cynical at the possibility of snow. It looked to be a grey day. By 9:45, little bits of flakes were falling. And I though, ‘ah, I guess there is snow, but that stuff will never stick’. Wow, I was so wrong. By 10am (!!!) there were big fat flakes, and by 10:15 the roads were in bad condition. I know because that is when I left for school, to teach my Algebra 1 class. Of course, the fact that the car I was driving a car that does not have anti-lock brakes and the brakes like to lock-up… I think made me significantly more nervous. Thankfully, I had a friend with me keeping me calm, and of course, several years of experience driving in snowstorms in NY. I made it safely, and drove skillfully.

Still, the snowfall, was very exciting! I half-hoped that school would close early (as did all my students), so that I could go home and sit on my couch with a cup of coffee and read a good book. Sigh, not to be. However, it was an enjoyable day, with the eventful weather. New snow sort of gives a new face to the whole world. 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Life, Silliness